Print Email

2023 IWFA Billfish Tournament

The 48th IWFA Billfish Tournament is now in the history books. This 3 day event was hosted by the magnificent Casa Vieja Lodge in Guatemala. The lodge has been a sponsor of the IWFA for many years and is a favorite destination for many of the clubs billfish anglers.

Each day the ladies were served up some exciting fishing and then greeted by signature cocktails and wonderful meals. This years event started with a fun fishing day where members could fish with their friends. Two mother daughter teams shared time out on the water on the fun fish day. Serena Wilson and her daughter Alexis plus Kathy Gillen and her daughter Nicole McKenney supporting this multi-generational event.  Ladies from their 20's to their 70's bonded together over their passion for fishing for these beautiful sailfish.  

The IWFA anglers released 138 sailfish with only 1 marlin making its way to the boat. Congratulations to our grand champion winner Nancy Lacuna who walked away with the beautiful gold disc. Second place was awarded to Connie O'Day and Third to Summer Bracher.   

First place team honors went to Denise Friehofer, Summer Bracher, Nancy Llacuna and Meredith Ballay. The second place team consisted of Serena Wilson, Nicole McKenney, Janice Sands and Alexis Wilson while Amy Lockhart, Anna Bush, Jing Torn and Kathy Gillen took third place team winner honors.  

The high point boat on Day One was Affinity, captained by Nico Melendrez, with anglers Serena Wilson, Kathy Gillen, Amy DeCoste and Nancy Llacuna. The high point boat on Day Two was Finest Kind with Captain Nicho Alvarenga with anglers Kathy Gillen, Summer Bracher, Janice Sands and Connie O'Day.

Congratulations to all the winners.  There is no doubt that many new memories were created and lifetime friendships were formed.

IWFA 2023 Billfish Award Winners (from left to right) 3rd Place Winner: Summer Bracher, Grand Champion Nancy Llucana and 2nd Place Winner Connie O'Day

First place team:  Nancy Llacuna, Meredith Ballay, Summer Bracher and Denise Friehofer

Second place team: Janice Sands, Nicole McKenney, and mother & daughter Alexis Wilson and Serena Wilson

Third Place Team: Anna Bush, Amy Lockhart, Kathy Gillen and Jing Torn